Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Fakulti Kejuruteraan Awam

By | March 2, 2018

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Fakulti Kejuruteraan Awam

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Fakulti Kejuruteraan Awam,
The Faculty of Civil Engineering (FKA) aspires to become a world class centre for education and research in Civil Engineering. Thus, FKA has the following policy statement;
UTM’S establishment is in line with the development of the civil engineering faculty since the objective and its inception was to train Technical Assistants, for the Department of Railways, Survey and Public Works, Federated Malay States.  UTM started in 1904 when the Treacber Technical School began its operation at Weld Road (now Jalan Raja Chulan) to train Technical Assistants.
The school was then upgraded to the status of Technical College and officially opened on March 1, 1905 officiated by the British High Commissioner, Sir Donald Mac Gillivray. The college offered courses at a Diploma level and one of the courses was a Diploma in Civil Engineering.  On March 1972, His Majesty DYMM Yang Dipertuan Agong officially proclaimed the formation of Institut Teknolgi Kebangsaan (ITK)under section 5 (1) of the university and University College Act, 1971. On 1 April, 1975 the institute reached another milestone of its history when it was officially declared as Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. The Faculty of civil engineering started with a Department of Engineering in 1972, and later became a Faculty in 1975. The journey of the faculty started as a college becoming an institute and finally a faculty.
In 1989, the Faculty moved from the UTM Kuala Lumpur Campus at Jalan Semarak to UTM Johor Bahru Campus. During its initial formation, the faculty had 3 departments, namely the Structures and Materials Department, the Hydraulics and Hydrology Department and the Geotechnics and Transport Department.  The new Environmental Engineering Department was set up in 1976.  To support the service and future development of the facu;ty, three (3) management units were formed. The units are Information Technology Unit (ITUCE), Surveying Unit and Civil Engineering Testing Unit (CETU). The faculty has a long history of producing distinguished graduates who have contributed substantially of the development of the infrastructure in Malaysia.
According to the QS World ranking 2013, UTM represented by Faculty of Civil Engineering was ranked 135 in the world and was top in Malaysia based on Civil Engineering Courses. The faculty has ranked 53 based on employers reputation worldwide which indicate that our faculty’s graduates are highly sought after. We stand tall and proud to be the largest contributor of quality civil engineering graduates to the nation.


Departments & Unit

A total of four engineering department established in FKA, namely
– Department of Structure and Materials
– Department of Geotechnics and Transportation
– Department of Hydraulics and Hydrology
– Department of Environmental Engineering
– Information Technology Unit of Civil Engineering
– Undergraduate Office – FKA
– Postgraduate Office – FKA
– Survey Unit
While ITUCE : Information Technology Unit of Civil Engineering has also play a role as a department and offering courses for undergraduate and postgraduate learning as well as developing and maintaining the information in FKA. All departments are headed by the Head of Department and further complimented by the Head of the Panel and Head of Laboratory. Click the picture below to go to the department web site.

Academic Office
Faculty of Civil Engeneering
Universiti Technology Malaysia
81310 Johor Bahru
Tel- +607-5531507
Fax  +607-5515745